Applications for solicitor’s permits may be obtained from the police receptionist. Proof of identification must be provided at the time the completed application is turned in. The fee for this service is $115. Approved permits will be issued in two to three business days.
Show All Answers
If you are in Dakota County, call 9-1-1 for all non-emergencies. Dispatchers at the Dakota Communications Center will route callers to the appropriate person to speak with. Non-emergencies include abandoned cars, lost or found property, non-injury accidents, vandalism, and other crimes not in progress. Calling 9-1-1 does not interrupt emergency response or distract from urgent calls. It is structured to handle all types of public safety concerns. We encourage you to call 9-1-1 anytime you feel unsafe or suspicious of activity you are witnessing. If you are outside of Dakota County, call 952-322-2323.
You can submit a request to Police for police-related public data through our online system.
Submit a Police Public Data Request
We are located at 100 Civic Center Parkway, Burnsville, Minnesota 55337. Civic Center Parkway is located on the east side of Nicollet Avenue, north of McAndrews Road and south of the Burnsville Parkway.
If you would like to verify that a report is ready for release, or if you are eligible to obtain a copy, please call 952-895-4600 (between 8:00am - 4:30pm Monday through Friday) and ask for the Records Unit. There is a .25 per sheet fee for reports.
Accident reports can also be requested online through the Minnesota Department of Public Safety Driver and Vehicle Services.
Fingerprinting services for the public are done by appointment only. Appointments can be scheduled by calling 952-895-4580. The cost for fingerprinting is $38 per person (must be paid for by cash or check at time of service). Please note, if an officer becomes unavailable your appointment may have to be rescheduled. Fingerprinting services are also offered by other law enforcement agencies and the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension. Please call in advance to inquire if the service is provided and for their scheduling process.
These documents are issued by the district court. Applications may be obtained from the Dakota County District Court locations in Apple Valley or Hastings, or visit their website:
Information regarding Level III Predatory Offenders is posted on the Minnesota Department of Corrections website below:
The best way is to send an email, letter or card to the Chief of Police, 100 Civic Center Parkway, Burnsville, MN 55337 or use the link below. Tell us the name of the employee and a summary of how the employee was helpful to you. This recognition will be placed in their personnel file and shared with the employee’s immediate supervisor.
Copies may be obtained from any driver’s license exam station or at the Minnesota Department of Public Safety website below:
If a vehicle has a passenger airbag, it is essential for children 12 years of age and under to sit in the back seat, which is considered to be the safest location in vehicles.
Burnsville residents may pick up an application form at the police department. A copy of the applicant’s Minnesota driver’s license or Minnesota identification card must accompany the completed form. There is no fee for this permit.
These permits are handled exclusively through the Dakota County Sheriff’s Office for Burnsville residents. For more information please visit their website below:
Spent and live ammunition can be brought to the Dakota County Recycling Zone for proper disposal.Dakota County Recycling Zone3365 Dodd Road, Eagan, MN 55121651-905-4520https://www.co.dakota.mn.us/Environment/RecyclingZone/Pages/default.aspx
There is no parking allowed on any street or roadway between the hours of 2:00 A.M. and 6:00 A.M. of any day, except physicians on emergency calls.
Download the Burnsville Police Department's "Identity Theft Packet" to learn how to report the issue and how to protect yourself against identity theft in the future.